Found 103 results

Foster Family

Simon Foster's family leaving their home 'Craven House' on Rongotea Road. The small gig was a type known as a Governess cart. From left: Bob (standing), Raven, Joan, Tom, Ruth, Mary, Ella (holding horse).

Presentation of Roy Craig Cup, c. 1951

On July 20, 1951, the Roy Craig Cup was presented at the Rongotea Coronation Hall, and reported in the newspaper on August 7, 1951. The Cup was awarded each year to the school which had gained the most points for their Lamb and Calf Day.

In the photo, left to right: Ernest Lange (Agriculture Instructor); Blair Tennent (Chairman of Whanganui Education Board); George Boulton (Secretary for Whanganui Education Board); Bill Hurst (Chairman of Rongotea School Committee); Lawrence Lancaster (Chairman of Manawatu-Oroua Boys and Girls Agricultural Club); Basil Rodgers (Headmaster of Rongotea School); Matthew Oram (Manawatu Member of Parliament); Roy Craig (donor of cup and Chairman of Manawatu County Council.

In front: Desmond George (School Captain).

Rongotea Institute Choir

Rongotea Institute Choir. Back Row: Sgaan Wynbergen, Tui Rowe, Betty Westerhuis, Rea Hayden (Gray), Mavis Wright, Lily Pedley, Joan Forlong (Lancaster) & Rae Saxton. Front Row: Ruby Hurst, Ngaire Hurst, Joan Rowe, Edna Simpson, Ruth Watson, Nora Sanson.

Rongotea

Rongotea 1955 - 2 splice together

Weld Motors Bus

Weld Motors bus picking up passengers at the Rongotea Post Office.

Charles Dahl's Campbelltown Store

Charles Dahl was born in Denmark in 1856, went to Australia in 1856 and finally to New Zealand in 1878. He married and had a family of five. The Campbelltown Store was opened in 1881/2. Charles Dahl was declared bankrupt in 1883 and closed the store in 1884.

Rongotea Wesleyan Church

Rongotea Weslyan Church, Trustees Left to Right: William Tucker, Vincent Ransom, Henry Sanson, Thomas Gifford & William Hunt

ROC_0032.jpg

Foundation members of the Rongotea country Women's Institute pictured with the cake are (from left to right). Back Row: V Will, Irene Fieldhouse, Gladys Redmayne & I McKay. Front Row: Alice Caverhill, Mary Will, Maud Bower & Florence Marcom.

Steve Claasen's Foodstore

Built in 1957, later sold to the Co-op. Situated on the corner of Thames Street and Douglas Square. Still standing, 2012. See Vera hunt, Rongotea Campbelltown, p. 167

Douglas Square, Rongotea, 1979

Douglas Square, Rongotea 1979. Taken from the roof of Gainsborough Supplies. Showing left to right - T.Hogg's house, Post Office, Co-op and Baylis Store. Photograpth: M Shailer

Bank of New Zealand, Rongotea

BNZ Rongotea. Closed in 1968. Building currently used as a community centre. The Rongotea community library collection, stocked by Feilding Public Library, is also housed in this building. The books are changed every three months (2012).

Officials, Rongotea District Athletic Club, 1905

Officials, Rongotea District Athletic Club 1905. Standing: J.Peters, E.Pratt, H.Ehrhorn (vice president), F.C.Burgess, H.Jarvis, D.Humphries, H.Ransom. Sitting: W.Baylis, J.Jarvis (vice president), J.Penney (president), A.Woolley (secretary), F.H.Vile (vice president)

Rongotea Wesleyan Church

Wesleyan Church, Rongotea, with steeple removed. See Vera Hunt, Campbelltown Rongotea, pp.23 - 24

Douglas Square, Rongotea, 1979

Douglas Square, Rongotea 1979. Showing left to right Baylis Store, Plunket Rooms, Gainsborough Supplies, M.Shailer's house and Reads Garage. Photograph M.Shailer

Rongotea Community Hall.

Rongotea Community Hall, opposite the Fire Station and Te Kawau playground. It was built in 1902 to commemorate the coronation of King Edward VII. The building was demolished in 1999.

Bakehouse, Rongotea.

The bakehouse was probably buit by Arnold Trenker in 1925. The building was used as a bakery until 1956 and is still standing (2012). see Vera Hunt, Campbelltown Rongotea, pp.123 - 125

Aerial view of Rongotea

Photo taken after 1957 as the revamped foodstore can be seen on the soth-eastern corner of Douglas Square - see RONG:049

Te Kawau Piano Accordion Band

Te Kawau Piano Accordian Band. Left - Right: Ron Hill, Gibson Hill, Maurice Zajonskowski, Alf Armitage, Vic Coulter, Mr Luxford (conductor), Billy Burt (drummer)

ROC_0003.jpg

Campbelltown now Rongotea - it was here in 1878 round a Matai stump the first Church Service was held. This stump erected by Community Council, L.Shailer Chm. D.Anderson Dep Chm. G.Arnott Sec. J.Riddle D. Coles A.Shailer M.Giles 1978

Search settings